I’ve Built a City

I find myself in dark despair again,
And expose myself to the world at night.
The stars paired with the lonely sense of blight,
Will leave me all alone; the fall of men.
I walk through barren streets and that is when,
My heart falls steep and eyes see only fright.
My self destructive thoughts are all that’s right.
The world ceases to care at the days end.
A city built of iron, pain and blood.
The world still seems to spin outside the wall.
I’ve built it: My emotions writhe in mud,
And every time I still won’t sleep at all.
The sun rises, and crashing comes the flood:
I’ve built a city just to watch it fall.

Author: Josh Whittemore

Maine ⚓️

Leave a Reply

